We are always excited to speak personally with interested students about our program details, the potential student's life situation or simply to answer questions. Please feel free to call the school at any time or send us an email. 808-879-4266 or
Admissions Process -
-Students must be 18 years of age or older to attend class, have graduated high school or obtained their GED.
-An application must be submitted to the school with a non-refundable 100$ application fee. You may apply and pay online here.
-A formal entrance interview will be conducted once the complete application is received, either in person, by phone or Skype. Upon final acceptance, the application fee will serve to hold the student's place in the class until registration during the first week of class.
- To assure quality of instruction, a maximum of 14 students are accepted for each program start date.
Tuition and Fees -
- Application fee (non-refundable) 100$.
-Our base tuition for both the 7 month program or the 12 month online/hybrid program, including GET tax of 4.16% is 7,500$. This amount is calculated at 16.70$ per classroom hour, not including student clinic hours paid by the public.
-Tuition for the optional Advanced Certification course segment, including GET tax of 4.16% is 1,500$.
- Book fees are a one time cost of 273$. *book fees may vary based on shipping cost and availability.
-Mosby's Pathology for Massage Therapists - Salvo, Fourth Edition
-Massage Therapy Principles and Practice - Salvo, Sixth Edition
-Trail Guide to the Body - Revised Fifth Edition
-Communication and Ethics for Bodywork Practitioners - Holland/Anderson
-MAHA New Student Reference Binder
-Student liability insurance is required for enrollment. A student policy with ABMP is 20$ during your program.
-CPR as required for licensure is 90$, received on-site.
*Material fee for online/hybrid program only is 350$. This covers the Visible Body App and your Anatomy in Clay model kit.
Understanding your Student Clinic as it relates to tuition -
The community student clinic at MAHA provides an enriching opportunity for students to practice their skills and receive real-time instruction and correction from their clinic supervisor before venturing out into professional life.
The State of Hawaii has a higher number of required “hands-on” or practical hours than any other state licensing board in the US! This places our students at a great advantage with experience above other programs across the country when applying for employment positions in all facets of our profession, or cultivating a private practice.
Of the total required hours to be documented prior to application for licensure, 420 of these hours are to be “hands-on” practical hours per Hawaii State law.
Because we believe ethically that as many practical hours as possible should be completed within a robust classroom curriculum, rather than fulfilled entirely in our student clinic, we require that each student only complete 200 of their practical hours in our community clinic. This includes 50 hours of record keeping, clinic operations, sanitation and special event participation.
The average market value of massage school tuition across the country is between $8,000 and $12,000 for a 600-650 hour program. We recognize that our students must meet the higher hands-on requirement for the State of Hawaii, so we allow the out-of-pocket portion of our tuition ($7,500) to be less than competitive nationally. This reflects the understanding that the student's commitment in the clinic represents the additional market value tuition for their program, paid by the public for their service. 100% of the price for a treatment in the clinic remains with the school, as per state law.
-MAHA is approved to receive VA benefits for tuition on behalf of our service men and women.
-The Hana Lima Scholarship available through AluLike.org for those of Native Hawaiian descent may provide tuition funds upon application. You can find additional information on their process here.
Personal Loan Portal
Maui Academy works with Flexxbuy to offer financing for our full tuition and fees. These plans allow for longer re-payment periods and smaller monthly payments to those who qualify. You can apply and receive a quick decision on your personal loan by following this link. Pre-qualify without disturbing your credit score. You may apply for the entire amount of tuition, including all fees except the application fee.
Payment Options-In House
We allow our students to finance their tuition in-house beginning at a minimum of 3 payments and a maximum of 7 payments. Exact dates for payment plans will be established at the beginning of each program and are based on a 7 month average program length. These payment plans are inclusive of tuition only, and do not reflect book, supply and insurance fees.
*Finance rate applies to the amount of $7,500 base tuition only. Payment amounts below include interest.
Option I - 3 payments of 2,650$ (made every 2 months).
*6% finance rate*
Option II - 7 payments of 1,168$ (made every month).
*9% finance rate*
If you would like to include the fee for the Advanced Certification module the above schedule will remain the same except the payments should be calculated from a base tuition of $9,000.
Option I - 3 payments of 3,180$ (made every 2 months).
*6% finance rate*
Option II - 7 payments of 1,401$ (made every month).
*9% finance rate*