We are always excited to speak personally with interested students about our program details, the potential student's life situation or simply to answer questions. Please feel free to call the school at any time or send us an email. 808-879-4266 or
Admissions Process -
-Students must be 18 years of age or older to attend class, have graduated high school or obtained their GED.
-An application must be submitted to the school with a non-refundable 100$ application fee. You may apply and pay online here.
-A formal entrance interview will be conducted once the complete application is received, either in person, by phone or Skype. Upon final acceptance, the application fee will serve to hold the student's place in the class until 1 month prior to the start date. At that time a non-refundable tuition payment of 500$ will be required in order to confirm the students place in the class. This deposit is applied directly to the students tuition. If the student is unable to attend class after submitting this deposit, a deferment to a future class start date may be requested and reviewed by the Principal.
- To assure quality of instruction, a maximum of 16 students are accepted for each program start date.
Tuition and Fees -
- Application fee (non-refundable) 50$.
-Our base tuition for the 10.5 month program, including GET tax of 4.16% is $6,500. This amount is calculated at 14.78$ per classroom hour.
- Book fees are a one time cost of 236$. *book fees may vary based on shipping cost and availability.
-Mosby's Pathology for Massage Therapists - Salvo, Fourth Edition
-Massage Therapy Principles and Practice - Salvo, Sixth Edition
-Trail Guide to the Body - Revised Fifth Edition
-Communication and Ethics for Bodywork Practitioners - Holland/Anderson
-MAHA New Student Reference Binder
-Material fee is a one time cost of 150$. This covers use of oils, lotions, creams, bottles/holsters and paper goods provided during class instruction.
-Student liability insurance is required for enrollment. A student policy with ABMP is 20$ during your program.
-CPR as required for licensure is 90$, received on-site.
-Massage table for home use, event use and outside study (optional). We offer an 20% discount to students on all Earthlite equipment and a reduced group shipping rate. (estimated 200$-440$ depending on equipment chosen).
Understanding your Student Clinic as it relates to tuition -
The community student clinic at MAHA provides an enriching opportunity for students to practice their skills and receive real-time instruction and correction from their clinic supervisor before venturing out into professional life.
The State of Hawaii has a higher number of required “hands-on” or practical hours than any other state licensing board in the US! This places our students at a great advantage with experience above other programs across the country when applying for professional positions in all facets of our profession.
Of the total required hours to be documented prior to application for licensure, 420 of these hours are to be “hands-on” practical hours per Hawaii State law.
Because we believe ethically that as many practical hours as possible should be completed within a robust classroom curriculum, rather than fulfilled entirely in our student clinic, we require that each student only complete 160 of their practical hours in our community clinic.
The average market value of massage school tuition across the country is between $8,000 and $12,000 for a 600-650 hour program. We recognize that our students must meet the higher hands-on requirement for the State of Hawaii, so we allow the out-of-pocket portion of our tuition ($6,500) to be less than competitive nationally. This reflects the understanding that the student's commitment in the clinic represents the additional market value tuition for their program, paid by the public for their service. 100% of the price for a treatment in the clinic remains with the school, as per state law.
-MAHA is approved to receive VA benefits for tuition on behalf of our service men and women.
-The Hana Lima Scholarship available through AluLike.org for those of Native Hawaiian descent may provide tuition funds upon application. You can find additional information on their process here.
We allow our students to finance their tuition in-house beginning at a minimum of three payments and a maximum of 10 payments. Exact dates for payment plans will be established at the beginning of each program and are based on a 7 month average program length.
*Full tuition of $6,500 without interest will be accepted upon approval by the school Director.
Option I - Three payments of 2,120$ (made every 2 months).
*6% finance rate*
Option II - Five payments of 1,308$ (made every 1.5 months).
*9% finance rate*
Option III - 7 payments of 960$ (made every month).
*12% finance rate*
*Finance rate applies to the amount of $6,500 base tuition after the 500$ non refundable deposit is applied. Payment amounts above include interest.
These payment plans are inclusive of tuition only, and do not reflect book, supply and insurance fees.